How do you gain energy?

ChocolateBunny

I discussed in another thread that I couldn't seem to get out of bed this morning. I wasn't sure if it was due to stress or taking 10mg Melatonin for the first time last night. Although, yesterday was a different feel, I am usually very lazy in the mornings even though I wake up early usually, and on the weekends, I feel my body is starving for a nap(so I give in). I have a nasty habit of drinking energy drinks when I feel it absolutely necessary to survive the work day.

My doctor has already prescribed me 1x weekly vitamin D pills. What other things do you guys do or eat to gain energy?

I'm considering cold showers and invigorating(smell) body wash.

If your not used to melatonin it takes time to build up to the full desired dose. I have no residual effects from melatonin however I don't take it for help with sleep. I am a little surprised your doctor has your vit D as a weekly supplement, it is something that usually needs a daily dose if your lacking. I take a lot of Vit D everyday if I miss too many days my blood tests will show it at alarmingly low levels (my body does not produce it)

Giving up the energy drinks and all other caffeine has helped me to be less tired during the day.

Probably not the only problem but it sounds like your circadian rhythm might be messed up. For me having a set rhythm helps a lot with sleep quality. In order to reteach your body when it's time to be awake you can:
- Go to bed but more importantly get up at the same time every day for two weeks.
- Open the curtains and/or turn on bright ligths first thing in the morning and reduce the light intensity (especially blue light/screens) at least an hour before bed time.
- Don't exercise intensely for at least the last two hours before bed.
- Maybe try exercise in the morning to wake yourself up properly.
- Don't drink caffeine or other stimulants after noon.
- No naps longer than 20 minutes.