Can you see any difference? (newbie, hey!)

Whimsy7

Nervous newbie here...
My starting weight was 168lbs (female, 5'5) and i'm aiming to lose around 30-40lbs in however long it takes :)
I actually have quite a small frame so my fat really "hangs" off me in the most unflattering way (I am usually able to really suck in my gut so my stomach is pretty flat in general day to day life, but for the sake of the photo, i'm totally relaxed so I get the full "effect" gulp). My weight gain started a couple of years ago when I became chronically ill and my activity levels took a beating. I'm currently in the second diagnosis process as I may have been wrongly diagnosed previously....all of this has been very stressful so i've been comfort eating as well as not currently being able to walk and work out like I used to/usually would.

I'm trying to avoid weighing myself on the scales as I get a little obsessive with the little numbers and my weight fluctuates a ridiculous rate within a mere day, so, i'm going by the good old fashioned measuring tape. I will of course, be brave and weigh myself once I know I have lost a good amount of weight. I've also been successful in making a conscious decision to be aware of the food that I am putting into my body. I actually eat very healthily anyway, but my portion control was wayyyy out of hand! So, it's been a case of cutting back on portions and somewhat counting calories.

I have lost 3 inches around my belly since Christmas. I realise a lot of this will be water weight, but i'm pretty chuffed at that. I'm currently walking as much as my body will let me and am doing hiit and cardio workouts in the evening. The shorter bursts of exercise seems to be easier on my body than the long drawn out workouts, which make me really quite ill.