New to weight loss

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen1357

I am 32 and had my first baby in July 2020. I put on 30 pounds when I was pregnant. Before I got pregnant I was 15 pounds overweight, so my goal is to lose 45 pounds.

I am completely new to weight loss, exercise and dieting but now I have a baby I want to be as healthy as possible.

I started 2 weeks ago and so far have lost 10 pounds, which feels amazing! But, I read that you are only supposed to lose 1 to 2 pounds a week. Could I be doing myself more harm than good? This is what I am doing, it is (hopefully) more of a lifestyle change than dieting.
  • I have given up alcohol and junk food (previously I drank at least 1 bottle of wine a week, and had an enormous amount of chocolate and biscuits every day)
  • I am now having all my 5 a day, usually more
  • I am having on average 90g protein per day, 140g carbs (usually wholegrain) and only 40g sugar (from fruit). Previously I had about 3 take aways a week and ate mainly ready meals and freezer meals
  • I am doing low impact aerobics for 30-45 mins 6 days a week and 15 mins ab exercises every day. Previously I did no exercise.
I was healthy when I was pregnant but as soon as baby was born I went back to being unhealthy.

I would normally go to a gym but can't because of covid. Is what I am doing sensible? Should I worry that I've lost so much weight too soon?

Would really appreciate any advice and tips.

Thanks xxx