Muscle strain on HIIT

I'm a beginner to HIIT, and have done 2 sessions of it. I must have pushed too hard on the first session, as I started aching badly all over my legs after it. In spite of that, I went ahead with my second session two days later. All the other aches have subsided except for strained quads. The strain is somewhere between mid-thigh and hip-level and is more pronounced in my right thigh(I'm a right-hander).

I tried doing my third session just now, but felt the strain (it's not painful though) the minute I started, so I decided to go easier today, doing 20s(instead of 30s) sprints and 60s recovery. I didn't push as hard on the sprints. After 8 intervals, I didn't feel any fatigue close to what I experienced after my first session, which according to what I read here, means that I didn't do "real" HIIT, so I decided to do a slow 10-15min jog back home. Only after that did I get that "I'm-gonna-pass-out" feeling.

Kinda at a loss about what to do now to settle this muscle strain. Should I stop HIIT completely for a week or two and go back to SS jogging? Or should I continue doing the "lower-intensity" HIIT that I did today?

Has anyone else experienced this problem?

I'm a beginner to HIIT, and have done 2 sessions of it.

What exactly are you doing? 30 second sprints? How much intensity do you aim for? 80%, 90%, 100%?

I must have pushed too hard on the first session, as I started aching badly all over my legs after it.

This is a good sign! Do you perform light, low-intensity aerobics (such as a 10-15 minute walk) beforehand, and then do full-body static stretching? Both of these are a necessity before and after the session. Though since it is your first time, may not have prevented the soreness anyway.

The strain is somewhere between mid-thigh and hip-level and is more pronounced in my right thigh(I'm a right-hander).

Here are two static stretches for what I believe is the region you're talking about: