I’ve been weight-loss shamed!

Lauretta

Hello everyone,

As the title says, yesterday I was weight-loss shamed and hoo-boy is it ever bothering me.

I put on a TONNE of weight in the last year thanks to Covid. I wasn’t exactly a waif before 2020, but I was accepting of those few extra pounds. I had slacked off on the exercise, but I wasn’t in horrible shape. Then Covid hit and between a year of lockdowns and being unable to work (I’m a musician), I managed to depression eat-drink-Netflix my way to a horrible number on the scale.

I saw that number at the beginning of February. It was the wake-up call I needed (well, that and not even coming close to fitting into any of my clothes). From that moment I cut out the croissants and the pizzas and the “family size” Chinese take-out and the BEER and replaced them with fruits and vegetables and lean meats and whole grains. I drink a lot of water. I am off the couch and exercising every day (I have a spin bike at home and free weights AND I live in a beautiful place and I do a 10km walk 4-5 times a week for “zen”). I want to do this right so I have been logging everything I eat and calorie counting and I am trying to stay between 1,600-1,800 calories a day (not less). I am not doing a “fad“ diet. I am never feeling hungry.

I have lost 22 pounds, but with all of the exercise and strength training, I think it LOOKS like more as the jiggly bits are turning to muscly bits. I am feeling great. I am happier, have more energy and I think I look good! I also have friends and family who are wonderful cheerleaders.