Does walking help to lose weight ?

MrGoat

Hi all,

I am starting a walking regime at a slow-to-moderate pace for 2 hours everyday to lose fats and weight. Besides this, I also hired a personal trainer for physical training sessions once a week. Recently, there is something I am confused about :

Does walking actually help to lose weight and fats? From the research I have done on the internet, almost all articles say that walking helps to burn calories, and thus fat (though at a slower rate compared to running). When I asked my physical trainer however, he was adamant that walking does NOT help at all with fat and weight loss and he told me to stop walking because it was useless.

Any experts here on this issue want to help clarify ?

Thanks alot.

Be warned: I'm not an expert!
It's true that walking, while it burns some calories (so does sleeping!) doesn't burn a huge amount. But:
  • walking gets you out of the house and away from the fridge!
  • walking gets your body moving enjoyably, and the more you enjoy exercise, the more you're likely to stick with it.
  • walking gets you more familiar with and appreciative of how your body works, and the more you appreciate your body, the better your weight loss and fitness efforts are likely to go.
  • walking is free!
I'm so, so not an expert, but I am very pro-walking!

I am no expert on walking or weight loss, but I do know something about thermodynamics and the laws of physics. Walking requires energy and calories are energy, it will burn calories. If you burn more calories than you eat you will lose fat, you have to it's basic thermodynamics. If you lose fat you will eventually lose weight, you have to. Now other exercises may burn more calories than walking, and most weight loss comes from diet rather than exercise. So walking may not lose you a lot of weight, but if you walk rather than sit you will lose more weight, but maybe just a little.

Walking also has all the advantages Amy mentioned, so keep on walking!