Davant's Journal

Well here I am, a 40 year old guy living in County Durham with my wife and son. I'm 6' 3" and weigh 235 lb. I'm giving myself 120 days to tone up and get my weight down to 196 lb and I think I can help myself by posting my progress daily on this site, possibly posting a few photos along the way. I might be the only person to even read it, but I'm gonna do it anyway and at very least I can look back at it in 4 months and smile.

DAY 0 - 235 lb
I lead quite an active life. I cycle to work (desk job) each day, around 70 miles each week - I aim to do this every working day of the year. I also play cricket during the summer months, each Saturday from 2 - 8pm. Here we are in October and I intend to replace the cricket over the autumn and winter with running, something I am not very good at. I also have good sets of barbells and dumbells in my garage which have laid untouched for nearly a year.

My diet isn't terrible, but has one big underlying issue - red wine and evening snacks. I can easily enjoy a full bottle of wine in one night. I know the problems this can cause with weight loss and I see this whole process as much an issue of dropping the bottle as it is dropping the weight.

Right, here goes, each day going forward, progress reports food diarys and all my exercised logged.

Welcome aboard. Some good stuff there. Going to break down targets and stated issues to see if there is anything I can add that could be useful, obviously feel free to ignore me as I am sure many have before.

Weight loss from 235 to 196 with toning in 120 days. Will say the toning will increase muscle mass by 1 pound which is very little and exceptionally pessimistic but makes the math easier.
40 pounds of fat lost in 120 days means 1/3 pound lost every day.
Fat is 3,500 calories a pound requiring a calorific deficit of 1,166 calories per day consitantly to achieve this.