Converting Free Sessions to Paying Clients: Advice?

Hi All,

I have been a personal trainer for a total of 2 years spread out over 3-4 years of various other sports coaching jobs. I am confident with my skills as a trainer, my analytical abilities and my effectiveness as a trainer in general.

In the past I have had a mixed role in training centers, with a combination of administration, group fitness and personal training. PT clients would approach with an active interest in starting with a trainer.

Now for the first time I am "sales driven" and need to actively aquire new clients in order to be self sustaining. This is a new experience and I find I am struggling.

My current approach is to put up a notice board in my center with a sign-up sheet offering a free trial session. I am getting a fair bit of interest and am booking 5-8 free sessions a week. I am having difficulty converting these free sessions into paying clients.

My question is: Firstly, what should I put on this notice board to attract the right kind of people? Currently it says:

PERSONAL TRAINING

Free session
Lose weight
Diet advice
Work out more effectively
Have more fun
Get pushed harder!

write down your contact details for a free session

Secondly: how should I be structuring my free sessions to encourage paying clients? I am so far finding that if I meet their needs (ie. showing them some fun exercises) they say thanks and walk away happy.

I would ideally like a template for a short (25minute) free session that makes people want more.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• NÅR ERA MÅL.doc
    16.6 KB · Views: 420
I'm far from the best at sales, so take my advice like a grain of salt.