A few questions about cycling and fitness in general

Hello there.

I'm quite new here. Actually, I'm quite new to the fitness world.

Let me start off by telling a bit about myself. I'm 16, I'm 189 cm and I weigh 78 kg.
There's this girl I like and I'd like to impress her by getting thinner and more slim. It's not that I'm overweight, I'm just not trained. I've played basketball for a few months but I quit due to lack of activity. I spend a lot of time sitting down, but I intend to change that. Let me be clear though: I don't want extreme muscles, I want to be slim with a little bit of six pack. (If that even makes sense)

I could put it another way: I don't want top-tuned muscles, but rather just nice looking muscles. I've heard that I need to do cardio training combined with some regular training like doing sit-ups and doing the plank in order to lose weight and gain muscles. Is this true? Also, I've been told not to do an exercise if it's too easy. I won't benefit from it apparently.

I don't know anything diet related, but I'd like to keep eating what I eat as it's healthy enough. I try very hard not to eat chips. That's basically the only thing I eat that's not healthy. Oh, and a lot of sausages. I know I shouldn't.

Anyway, I'm thinking of cycling a specific route that will probably take me 1 hour or so. Would this be fine? How will I include the normal training in this? Should I even include normal training or should I just take one thing at a time? (E.g. first cycling then doing normal training the next day) If this cycling thing gets too easy, would it be okay to take it up a notch with the pedal "strength" (Sorry for my English) and take another, longer, route?

I really do apologize for all these questions, I just want to make sure that I train properly. I really want to impress this girl.

Sorry if I missed anything and sorry if the text is kind of "jumbled". Ugh, I feel like I'm asking too many questions.

Thanks in advance to anyone who answers.