350ish lb Highschooler looking to lose weight to play football

Status
Not open for further replies.

zackarytyb16

I'm a 17 year old sophomore in highschool and I am looking for some ideas and some recommendations on how to start my weight loss journey. I am 350ish lbs and wanting to better my self for the future and hopefully play sports (football) and fit in better clothes. Any ideas/exercises (I don't have any equipment) to help me on my adventure are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for the help.
-Zack

Hi, Zack & welcome to the forum. What you eat & drink is much more important for weight-loss than exercise.
There are various useful sites online for dietary guidelines. Some of these are-
Australian Guide to Healthy Eating | Eat For Health
Choose MyPlate
The eatwell guide - A revised healthy eating model - British Nutrition Foundation
I don't know what your current diet looks like, but starting out with cutting out soda & junk food would really kick-start your weight-loss. I would start walking every day. I'm sure others will help you out with exercises that you can do without any equipment. Keeping track of what you eat in an app helps you to see how many calories you actually use in a day. I use My Fitness Pal. It gets easier the more you use it.
If you feel like starting a diary, the link to that is https://weight-loss.fitness.com/forums/weight-loss-diary.9/
At 17 you are still growing & have youth on your side. Do this the healthy way & you will set yourself up for life. Good for you making a start. I wish you well! Cheers, Cate.

Hi mate,

Exactly what Cate has already said. Eat lean healthy foods and remove most if not all added sugar (feel free to do this slowly as sugar is after all addictive and you will have cravings/withdrawals if you go cold turkey).