What do you think of a HIIT with 20 sec intense alternating with 10 sec slow?

I'm quite a trained person on the stationary bike with strong muscles in the thighs developed from doing it for over 5 years. 1 and a half months ago I read about HIIT and have been doing an ultra intense form of it ever since then - 20 seconds all out (36 rotations), then 10 second slow and filling up my lungs as much as I can during these 10 seconds. I repeat this for 20 minutes for a total of 40 HIIT cycles. I actually feel DEAD tired after only 10-12 minutes, which is an indication that I'm actually doing HIIT, but I extend it till 20 minutes using my willpower and my already trained body.

Is this a bad plan for the long term? The HIIT plans I read up on the internet usually involve twice as long rest periods as the burst periods

I'm no expert on HIIT, but from what I have read, rest periods are usually 60 - 90 secs with 30sec bursts of high intensity. That is what is suggested anyway.

You must be pretty damn fit man, huge efforts on the stationary bike! As for whether or not it is bad for you in the long-term, I have no clue and I hope someone else on this forum knows a little something about HIIT.

It sounds like you're basically doing tabata training, except tabata is usually only 8 cycles of 20 sec/10 sec. Usually the longer you want your interval workout to be, the longer the rest intervals are, as ICE said above.

"when you say you take in as much breath as you can," be careful not to hold your breath. That is bad for you in the long run, and will hamper your VO2. Slow, controlled is the gaol. but obviously with the HIIT, or tabata, you get totally winded.

Just from your descroption it felt like maybe you take a big as you can in breath and make the most of it. Not good, let that breath flow, and control it as you can.

Just a thought
FF