Weider Total Body Works 5000 - a review, of sorts

Hey folks, I'm posting this here because I got my weider in the mail today. I had a couple threads on here asking about the vigorfit setup and ultimately ended up buying the weider instead. I am happy with the purchase and I wanted to give everyone my thoughts on the machine.

I'll start off by saying that I am not an authority on anything sports or fitness related, I'm new to the whole thing really. I'm a beginner, so maybe my opinion will change with experience.

Ok, so here's the meat:

There was very little assembly required, there are three bolts to put in and 4 L shaped pins. The bolts come with self threading aircraft nuts and are better quality than I had expected. Although assembly was easy, the instructions lacked just enough detail to make it bothersome. You'll need a half inch wrench, socket & driver or an adjustable wrench to put it together, not that they tell you what size the bolt and nut are. A socket with a short extension made assembly very easy for me, but it wouldn't be much of a chore to do it with a wrench either. The pins were also easy, although the pullup bar seems to have one way that it fits much better than the other.

Setting this thing up and adjusting it was also very simple, and the instructions were also just a tad inadequate. Although the setup is very straightforward and intuitive, the manual doesn't really tell you how to extend the bottom of the machine. There is an extra knob on the bottom of the machine that is pulled out to get the bottom to extend, however, the tubes were so tight that it wouldn't budge without the whole weight of the machine. Since the instructions didn't tell me how to do this, I had to reverse engineer it from the "storing the weight training system" section.

Overall, even with the bits of confusion, this took less than 15 minutes to setup.