thinking of starting boxing

i just started lifting weights and changing my diet etc, and at the same time my interest in boxing and kickboxing has grown due to programs like The Contender, Ultimate Fighter and UFC.

I'm considering joining a boxing or kickboxing club in my local area, but there's a few things I'd like to know first.
Firstly, I don't fancy fighting in competitions and trying to win medals and prizes, I'd rather just do it as a way to keep fit, have fun and fight people within my club and other clubs. Is it possible to do this or are coaches going to expect you to fight in competitions?

Also, (this my sound lame to people who do martial arts), are there any rules as far as punching and kicking to the nose is concerned? The reason I ask is because it's a really sensitive part of the face and I really don't wanna walk away from every fight with an injured nose. What are the rules or guidelines in terms of this (for boxing and kickboxing)? I noticed it doesn't seem to happen very often.

Um...my karate coach didnt insist that we go to tournaments but he did kinda push the idea...(not trying to be an ass or anything) but watching tv or gettin it off games just dosnt cut it....thats why so many people start boxing or martial arts...becasue they think theyll just get to get up there and fight....games and stuff like that only show the "glory" of it...they dont show the work and pain it takes to get there lol. Thats why so any people quit..so if you start anything dont expect it to be fun....expect to work hard and do some things that will get boring after a while....but IF you stick with it...I would say ya...go for it....anything like that will get better as time goes on...hope this helps at all....

I agree with what you're saying but just to let you, I know what goes on behind the scenes and I know it's hard work. The main reason I'd be doing it is to keep fit, but in more "fun" way than just hitting a pad at home. But thanks for the advice.

Jonny.