Strained muscle in foot, what should I do?

Starting in the past few months, I've gotten into the habit of running almost every day. I would run 3-6 miles per day, five days a week (at least). I really needed to burn off fat as I was pretty overweight, and its been working. I lost over 30 pounds and I've felt like I'm in much better shape.

This past friday, I ran 12 miles non stop, something I've never done before. It was very difficult but I'm happy to say that I did it.

Unfortionately the next day, I had pain in my left foot. It feels worse the normal muscle soreness. Its on the left side of my foot, sort of on the bottom. Its not constant, its only when I'm standing up and/or walking for an extended period of time. when I first wake up in the morning, I don't feel it, but after I start walking to classes I feel it.

I've tried using heat/ice and muscle soreness cream I picked up from CVS. AGain, they work for a little while but after a while it hurts again.

I think that my old running shoes were probably used up, and I've since tossed them and gotten myself a new pair. Nevertheless, I'm still wondering what I should do in the meantime. Its tuesday and it still hurts. I really want to get back out there and run some more, as I've actually come to enjoy it, and I'm on a weight loss schedual thats been working and I don't want to mess it up.

I also don't want to make this worse by running on it before it heals. What should I do? Is avoiding running and heat/ice pretty much all I can do until it goes away?

As a side note I tried going on a stationary bike at the gym tonight. Didn't hurt my foot at all but god I hate those things. The seats are incredably uncomfortable, and it gets too hot in there.

moved to medical forum.