Need a program before p90x

Hello, all. Great forum. I want to do p90x in three months (not now) and need a good program before then to get ready.

A few things:

1. I don't have a steady home to do a DVD-based program (like the regular p90), but I have a good gym that I can use, so it's gotta be gym based.

2. I have been doing a Body-for-Life (a lighter version) for the past three months, but want to "take it up a notch" so I can get ready for the p90x in 90 days or so. I have some weakness in my shoulders that I've been trying to slowly build up, but still have some to do. I'm super motivated, but on some stuff - like pull-ups, I'm still weak. I can't do any pull-ups, for example. It's frustrating.

3. Any advice eating-wise, is of course, appreciated.

Thanks so much!

????

Al, I think I can help. I have just completed the P90X and it is a great work out. I started the program and I was in horrible shape, I mean bad. I am 5'6" and I was 220lbs and to boot I haven't worked out in years. In 90 days I lost over 38lbs and went from 31% bf to only 17% and I am still losing I am currently at 180lbs. I even became a coach for them and am getting recertified as a personal trainer, I use to be one back in my early 20's. I am finally in descent shape enough to get ready for a triathlon I have always wanted to do. The program is no joke, it is hard but you don't have to be in any type of great shape to do it. I know you mentioned that you need a gym type program. Well good news for you, p90x comes with a guide and nutritional guide, you can do a couple of things. If you were to get the program you can use the guide and take to the gym on the days you can't do the DVD. Please contact me if you need detailed help.:eek:

p90xer- thanks so much for the inspirational post! If you have a moment, I'd love to ask you a few questions - it sounds like you really got a lot out of p90x!