Intro - Blessings This Memorial Day!

Suze_Berry

I’m not very good at this part. So, let’s see. I am post-menopause and post-total hysterectomy so I’m not only low in hormones I’m null and void in them. Though, strangely enough, that hasn’t seemed to have made that much of a difference. A few years ago I was sitting comfortably at a size 14/16. I was healthy. Felt good. Fairly active - we’re in the high hills, foothills to the mountains - and enjoy hiking and eating healthy. Then my job went crazy. The stress was off the charts. I was working 10+ hours a day, exhausted ALL the time and two things happened: I was so tired that I started eating more. I realize now that I was thinking that food=energy and I was eating to get rid of the exhaustion. And I developed the Cortisol stress roll, which I had never had before. Long story short - I gained right at 100 pounds. Sigh.

So, COVID becomes a household word and I make the decision to retire early, which was another huge stress factor due to the cut in retirement funds by leaving early. Then something happened - everyone started talking about COVID 15 and I determined that I was NOT going to be one of them. I’ve been retired approximately 8 months and I’ve lost 30 pounds. I was eating two meals a day and made healthier choices but not really dieting. The depression/stress began to lighten, I took an interest in life again and interestingly enough that Cortisol roll started to shrink. HOWEVER, I barely moved off the couch during that time. At first, it was because of the stress, but then I started to read...read, Read, READ! All of the books that I’d put aside for the last thirty years. Eight-ten months of a sedentary life does not make for a healthy body. For the first time in my life I had blood levels and indicators going in the wrong direction. Took me about one hour to start making changes-becoming more strict w/ my food choices was easy. Moving again, not so much.