I'm considering joining a Gym....

My wife and I are comitted to losing the extra pounds we've put on in the past 14 years. We will probably join a gym but have no idea what the current rates are comparatively. Any comments on the subject would really help.

Check out local universities and colleges to see if they allow public to become members.
I joined the gym at St. Joseph's College in Hartford and it's...hmm...trying to remember.... $250 a year, I think. ANyways, it's much much cheaper than any other gym around. It's small, but it's never crowded, adn they have all the equipment you'll need. I used to go to the gym at University of Connecticut when I was a student and they allowed public to join, too.

And don't join Bally's - they are crooks and I know people who have had their credit ruined.

I am a member of 24 hour fitness and they have tons of different packages but the one I have allows me to go to any club in any place in the world paid a few hundred up front (cant remember exactly) and like 22 a month with no contract. It is a nice club can get crowded in the evenings (so i go during the day) but tons and tons of them around great staff and plenty of equiment

yeah 24 hour fitness is good, and if you pay everything upfront(not the easiest thing i kno) you save a lot, it comes out to 16-20 $ a month.. which isnt bad @ all. and little privately owned gyms start @ 10$ a month w/no other fees..

You have to decide if you want to join a lifting gym or a fitness center. This factor greatly affects your motivation. Also ask for a trial 2 or 1 week pass so you can get the feel for the place. The other thing you want to make sure that you invest some money in a professional trainer so that you can learn to use the equipment properly and proper form for lifting the weights, this will prevent injuries down the road.