Advice on brisk walking

wisewind

Hello Members,

I have a query to ask you all.

I read in online articles that the minimum speed for brisk walking is 4.5 km/h.

I tired walking in that speed but it is too difficult for me due to my body size (My BMI is currently 40.5).

I am currently walking 4.0 km/h. Will I still be able to lose weight if I do brisk walking at this speed (4.0 km/h) ?

Thank you.

Will I still be able to lose weight if I do brisk walking at this speed (4.0 km/h) ?
It all comes down to calories, if you eat fewer calories in a day than you burn you will lose weight. If you don't you won't. The walking will increase your calories a bit, at a brisk pace maybe something in the 100 to 150 calorie per hour range. So it will help, but walking alone without the calorie deficit will not. Still good for you, but without the deficit no weight loss.
I read in online articles that the minimum speed for brisk walking is 4.5 km/h.
I am no expert but have heard it is best to walk at a pace where you still have enough wind to talk but not sing, for me that is easier than clocking the km or miles per hours. Of course the harder you force yourself the more calories you will burn, but not a huge amount. For me sticking to a pace I like and will keep to is more important, the longer walks bring up the calorie burn. Maybe LaMa will chime in on this, she knows a lot more than I do about it!

Keep on walking!

All walking speeds will contribute to burning calories and helping with weight loss however diet will always be to most important factor in achieving your weight loss goals.

If you happen to be short you will burn more calories than a taller person walking at the same pace.