Abdominal strain or hernia?

Looking for some advice here. I do dips on a regular basis and was doing them recently without weight when I felt a tight pain in my right upper adbominal muscle, second one from the top, it bulged temporarily, for about five seconds, then went down but left a little soreness in the area. Does this sound like a Hernia or a muscle strain? Obviously I hope it's the latter, as I'm worried.

So I'm not a doctor but it is real easy to diagnose this kind of stuff over the internet. I can even walk you through self surgery which will save you a ton of money over a real doctor. After all what do they know that Google can't answer. If self surgery is a problem for you then you may want to see a doctor which is what I seriously recommend. Good Luck.

I am 90% sure that's not hernia.Hernia will not give you pain but discomfort.Hernia is located in the lower abdominal and you can feel it with a touch of your hand and sometimes even see it.Don't freak out for now,but if the pain stays for a few days the best and only thing you should do is to see your doctor!!!!!Good Luck.

I believe you know that Dips are better than Push-ups. If you are feeling abdominal pain then there might be something wrong in your techniques. Are you sure you are following proper techniques? I have been practicing dip for more than a year. Initially I had faced pain in my elbow and my shoulder. Anyway I would like to share my way to do dip with you. Check that out and see if you find out any difference?

• Try to put your thumbs around the bar & squeeze it hard. The more force you apply to the bar, the stronger you are.

• Don't look straight forward, don't look the floor. Look to a point slightly in front of you.

• Take a big breathes while hanging with locked elbows & hold it. Lower yourself & come back up. Breathe at the top, not during reps.

• Don't let your shoulders roll forward. Keep your chest up & shoulders back. It's easier on your shoulders.