20 minutes ofr HIIT?

I wonder how it will effect the results if the total time for a HIIT workout is reduced from 20 minutes, to say 15, or 10, or even 5?!

Some of us dont even have time for a 20 minute workout. I dont suppose the effect can really be judged without scientific experiment.

Considering it's important to get in a 5 minute warm-up and cool-down for HIIT, I don't think it would be effective at all.
Really? Not even 25 minutes to spare?? Geez... I feel bad for you.

its said if you're new to HIIT to keep it short like under 10 minutes because it can be so extreme then work your way up. personally i usually do a 5 minute warmup, 8-12 minutes of HIIT and a cool down and i'm done with that.

Guys I am a noob in HIIT... My current plan is posted in the "At Home" section. Think I should mix HIIT with my current plan? I dont do much cardio before my workout, since most of it is done in my school... But I was thinking of starting some jumprope and stuff as cardio before the workout... ANy help will be apreciated.

xander said:
I wonder how it will effect the results if the total time for a HIIT workout is reduced from 20 minutes, to say 15, or 10, or even 5?!

Some of us dont even have time for a 20 minute workout. I dont suppose the effect can really be judged without scientific experiment.

It would probably depend on the intensity involved.5 minutes of HIIT?Try the Tabata method in conjunction with running.Tabatas are 20 seconds work alternated with 10 seconds of rest, so sprint for 20 seconds, going all out, then jog at a slow pace to recover for 10 seconds.Repeat for the duration.