20 year old guy, tall and skinny - looking to change that.

Hi guys,

I'm a 20 year old undergraduate studying for a degree, I've never seemed able to gain weight and for years I've just told myself it is how I am, but its getting to the point now where I'm starting to really regret not getting on with it a few years back as I'd be in a much better position now - e.g. I went to the rugby club trials, they said I could play very well, but, I'm not big enough for the team.. ..so there went that. This kinda thing has happened a few times and has kinda motivated me to get started, albeit a bit late.

However, I have nooo idea how I should start and after reading around it seems that good advice is golden for this sort of thing - or I'll end up just wasting time and getting nowhere, hence why I am asking you guys.

My situation is: I am in my second year of my degree, I can't join the athletics clubs this year as my course clashes with their training times etc so I need something I can do at home in my room (weight lifting exercises that use your bodies weight like pushups etc). I can get out for running / cycling etc but I'm not sure how beneficial they really are to the bulking up part? More the endurance fitness stuff.

Height: 6ft1
Weight: ~10.6/7kgs ~150lbs

Any advice etc would be great! Things to eat, things I can do in my room etc, routines etc. Also if any of you could explain the reasonings behind what you say (if you can) that would be helpful as that is the only way I can learn for the future.

Sorry for the long post,

Thanks!

p.s. I do eat quite a lot, I just have a high metabolism so don't gain any weight.

I assume you must be an ectomorph/hardgainer. I'm the same.

You gotta work hard, that's pretty much always the best answer.