Problem with push ups

Hi,

For some reason I've been having a problem with my push ups,I'm training a lot on them but it just doesn't improve so I wondered if I might be doing something wrong.

I've checked exactly how to do push ups correctly and obviously it's a lot harder then what I used to do.I'm currently doing 36 and my goal is to do 75.

my training routine is I do all the push ups I can until I simply go down and can't go up,then I immediately get up and do all the push ups I can before resting(which usually is like 6-7 push ups). Then I do another ab exercise and go back to the push up routine I mentioned above.I do that 3 times in a row without any rest.

I'm doing that routine 3-4 times a week and for about 4 months and my push ups just won't get better.

I guess I don't have the best genes,although I exercise a lot and I've been boxing for a few years I do have muscles but I'm not one of those huge dudes or anything like that.I just figured I'll exercise through it if it slows me down.Can it be linked?

Is there anything wrong that I'm doing in the routine? Can someone suggest a routine or a diet or something that might help to increase my push ups?

thanks in advance.

Firstly, it's not necessary to create the same topic three separate times. If people have an answer, they'll get to you.

Anyway, if you're plateauing, then you need to do something to increase the overload. Add some extra weight to yourself (put a dictionary on your back or something like that) and spend more time on the "down" phase. The down (or eccentric) phase of an exercise is where the most muscle damage - followed by repair and build-up - occurs.

Thanks a lot,I'll try that.

I posted it the second time because there were some spelling mistake and stuff and it didn't let me edit.
I posted for the third time because I thought I posted it in the wrong category.