woodchopping exercise - which muscles worked?

I want to include the diagonal wood chopping exercise into my new program cause it looks like something different and diversified. Its the one performed on the cable machine, from right top to left lower side (and vice versa).

I saw this exercise in the book "The New Rules of Lifting" by Lou Schuler and Alwyn Cosgrove. p177 if anyone has/is reading it too.

By the looks of the action I think it works mainly the obliques. With abs, lower back and lats worked to a lesser extent. I'm no expert just a keen weight trainer/trainee.

Can anyone here confirm or correct me?!

I would recommend using a kettlebell or a dumbell over cables, and would also recommend including vertical woodchoppers.

It's a total core workout. Rectus and transverse abdominals, obliques, hamstrings and I think back extensors too. The abdominals and obliques work as stabilizers and the hamstrings and back extensors as primary decelerators. Its a really difficult and effective exercise if done properly with a good weight and rep range. It works the lower back, lats, and delts a bit too, but that definitely isn't the primary function.

It's a very good exercise, and much more effective for your core than a crunch or side crunch or any other pathetic exercise could dream of being.

Woodchoppers have a much larger range of motion than your typical ab exercise (i.e., sit ups), therefore your entire core is activated. They are an awesome core strengthener, but the obliques definitely get hit pretty good.

Watch your form. You don't want too much twisting in the back. Go light at first until you've perfected your technique.

Crap. Limestix beat me to the punch :D

I would recommend using a kettlebell or a dumbell over cables, and would also recommend including vertical woodchoppers.