Well, I made it over here.

In advance: Sorry for the novel, if you hate reading, move on.

I've lurked for a bit and finally decided to register. After trying to figure things out on my own it really hasn't worked. I am disgusted in myself for letting myself get the way I am. Seeing myself getting bigger, or lately, not any smaller (maybe 1lb/week), doens't help my self esteem.

I decided that now is the time to get back to what I once was. I was once a person who played baseball, football, and other physical activities. When I graduated (highschool) I went to college and started working full-time and my physical activities started to diminish. I then turned 21 and found my lovely beer drinking habit that was easily 3-4 nights per week. The pounds added on quickly, and mixed with working a desk job and lack of excercize it just compounded over the last 2-3 years.

Since then, I also got married, and had my son. I want to change for myself, for my wife, and for my son. I want to be healthy when he starts running around or wanting to play sports. I don't want to be winded or tired. I want to be motivation and inspiration to him. I know it will take time, but I am going to give it my best shot.

In addition, my wife is about 30lbs heavier than she was before she got pregnant. She was 135 before she was pregnant (perfect for her body), went up to 185lbs, then was down to 150lbs a month after birth. Now, she is back up to 165lbs. I try to talk about our issues and she pushes them aside. The last thing I want her to feel is unattractive to me as that may make matters worse. What I am trying to do is lead by example. That way if I am getting in better shape it may inspire her to join me - which will be difficult when we have a 17 month old. What is truly depressing is that my wife gave herself 1 year to get back to her prepregnancy weight... and she is way passed that year and in worse shape now... she won't awknowledge it. :(