okay here's today's laugh....

I am female, 54, 5'4", 116 lbs. I have been working at a women's gym for the last 3 years. I LOVE exercising and fitness (altho I do love junk food too) - have always been in decent shape even after two children. I am very active and love all outdoor sports (this year I am giving up waterskiing though. Don't want to fall and break something.) Lately I have been considering trying to get some type of personal training certificate - mostly for my own information but perhaps to make a little money also. Am I too old??????????????????? Would anyone hire a middle aged woman?

Absolutely not. Get to it.

I would think it would depend on your attitude....if it bothers you then maybe it would bother others? Relativity is always a course of action...for example others that are your age would probably feel more comfortable training w/you than say a younger trainer. I think your outlook and how you sell yourself (and how much knowledge you have) would hinge alot on how much business you would rake in though, not so much the age factor. Me and my dad run a side business and if someone is 45+ then he usually sells the job.. if they are under 40 I usually sell the job....if they are somewhere inbetween then its either both of us or a flip of the coin. Some ppl relate to their elders as being more knowledgeable too :)

I would have no problem having an older personal trainer if she knew her stuff.

Maybe people your age would be MORE comfortable with you versus someone younger too.