Why 50% of Personal Trainers Suck -PART 1

Here is another article...that is made up entirely of opinions of mine. Enjoy!

I can feel the fists clamping and the teeth grinding as I write this. I can see the eyes slither up as if an un-welcomed cousin has entered the party. I can hear the whispers and the “whatevers” under everyone’s breaths. Well...if you are still interested in reading this, its because you want to stand apart from the 125,000 new fitness professionals that join the ranks every year, and hopefully, you don’t want to be one of the 25,000 that quit after 1 year.

In my opinion, you are going to continue reading this because you want to hear what I have to say. And who they hell am I you may ask? I am a lot of things....an observer, a student, a teacher, a leader, and a friend. I am a professional, an educator, and a coach. I remember being asked what I did for living years ago and replying, “I’m a personal trainer”, and everyone kinda looking at me like I had 3 heads.

“You mean you show people how to use those machines?”

“....Mmmmm, close....I help fat people get skinny and I help slow people run faster, and I help scared people be brave...and I help weak people be stronger, and I help diseased people become healthy”.

So, being labeled a personal trainer has come around over the last 3-4 years. Being one is not as foreign as it used to be when I first started out. Of course, they’re those that started out before me. Oh, yeah...they were called Biff, Zach, and Lance. They were the biggest guys in the gym with the darkest tans, and the highest Ottomix shoes around. They wore bandanas, belts, and earrings in the gym. They smelled like protein and they had more weightlifting gloves than some women had shoes. Some were old too...frequently telling me stories of feats past—big benches, big deads, big squats....torn pecks, bad backs, and messed up knees.